Simple and Sweet

This was the first Valentine’s Day with my boyfriend. For months, we had said we weren’t going to do anything special for the artificial holiday because we should show our love everyday, right? Of course we should, but I kept seeing the potential crafts I could create so I just had to do something. I didn’t want him to be upset about going back on our promise, so I kept it simple with a homemade card and strawberries for dessert.
                  FullSizeRender-15         IMG_2265-2

I got the idea for the card from Pinterest, of course. The card was relatively inexpensive – all you need is a piece of scrapbook paper, cardstock, something to glue the two together, and stickers of your choice. I will warn you that arranging those hearts took absolutely forever to find the perfect fit and flow. So if you like puzzles, this is a perfect craft!

Now the strawberries. I originally planned to core the berries and fill them with my homemade cream cheese frosting, but that took forever and the boyfriend was eating them faster than I could fill them! So we went to just dipping them into the cream cheese frosting and then into crushed vanilla wafers. They ended up being the perfect little strawberry cheesecake bites!

JC

Recipes!

Cream Cheese Frosting
Ingredients
4 oz cream cheese at room temperature
¼ cup unsalted butter at room temperature
½ tsp vanilla
1 cup confectioners sugar

Directions
1. Mix together the cream cheese and and unsalted butter until creamy. Add vanilla.
2. Add in the confectioners sugar. Use more or less for desired consistency.

Leave a Reply

